How to release a domain name for public registration

If you need to make any changes to the domain name, please do so before you set the domain name to forego renewal. After setting a domain name to non-renew, changes cannot be made to the domain name and it will be removed from the Domain Manager tool.

How to release a domain name

Note: The following steps assume that you have accessed the Control Panel for the domain name to be renewed.

To non-renew your domain name:

  1. From Manage my Web site, click Domain Manager.  If prompted, log in.
  2. Locate the domain name to be renewed, click the Actions drop-down menu, and select Renew/Cancel. If you do not find the domain name to be renewed on the initial screen, click the Up or Down arrows to navigate to the desired domain name.  Note: If the domain name selected is the only domain name on a Shared Web Hosting account, the non-renewal of the domain name does not constitute the non-renewal of the web hosting account. Domain names are separately billed from web hosting accounts. The reverse also applies. If you cancel a web hosting account that has one or more domain name registrations attached, this will not constitute the non-renewal of your domain names.
  3. If you intend to close your web hosting account, follow the directions found in the 30-day Renewal Notice. You may also close your account from the My Account Options link in the Control Panel.
  4. Click to select No, release this domain name for public registration, then click Continue.  Note: By choosing the non-renewal of a domain name, the domain name in question is removed from the Domain Manager Tool. This removal means that we will not post a renewal request when the renewal is due. The domain will simply expire with the Registrar and applicable registry. If you had purchased private registration for this domain, your private registration will not renew either. The status of your private registration when you chose to non-renew the domain name is carried through to the end of the registration.
  5. Click Finish.

    Prior to the release of the domain name for others to register, you will receive a Deactivation Notice. This notice is sent as a reminder that the domain name has been deactivated. The Deactivation Notice means the domain name has been removed from our channel and has been rendered inactive on the Internet. If you do decide to renew at this point, you should contact us immediately so we can attempt to renew the domain name for you. Do keep in mind there is no guarantee that we can renew a deactivated domain name.




    Article Details

    Last Updated
    22nd of February, 2012

    Would you like to...

    Print this page Print this page

    Email this page Email this page

    Post a comment Post a comment

    Subscribe me

    Add to favorites Add to favorites

    Remove Highlighting Remove Highlighting

    Quick Edit

    Export to PDF

    User Opinions (0 votes)

    No users have voted.

    How would you rate this answer?



    Thank you for rating this answer.

    Related Articles

    Attachments

    No attachments were found.

    Post a comment

    To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
       Name:
       Email:
    * Comment:
    * Enter the code below:
     

    Continue
    Get tips on how to improve your website strategy and more...